Duke of Edinburgh – First Expedition

On Saturday 11th to Sunday 12th June I went on my first Duke of Edinburgh camp. I woke up at around 5:30 am whilst other people managed to be on time waking up at 7:00! Bear in mind we had to be at the campsite for 8:30.

DSC00006

 

My group walked for around 7 hours altogether over the weekend, trekking through abandoned mineshafts, hills, mountains and trudging through cow pat swamps.

The five of us and a few other groups found a lamb on the first leg of our route. The poor thing was shaking and had what looked like dehydrated mud stuck all over it and I really didn’t want to leave it. Luckily when I got back to camp I got the leader to phone the Rspca, I heard it got rescued but honestly I doubt he did anything about it after promising me…

DSC00001
I had a grass blade in my mouth pretending to be a stereotypical farmer #dontjudge

 

One lovely thing about the camp was that I didn’t dislike anyone there and the whole thing took a lot off my mind for the WHOLE time!

The weather wasn’t too nasty and I cooked pretty decent food. I probably overdosed on Clif bars and Holland and Barrett flapjack but really the whole thing was like weekend therapy instead of 1+ hours of talking to a therapist.

DSC00005

Any chance to do something like this? Take it,

Keep Smiling 🙂

Leave a comment